UNI faculty pass vote of no confidence in President Allen, Provost Gibson

John Anderson

An earlier version of this article said the motion to adjourn and vote next week was moved by Jeffrey Funderburk. It was in fact moved by Francis Degnin and seconded by Funderburk.

The University of Northern Iowa faculty passed a motion of no confidence in UNI President Benjamin Allen and Provost Gloria Gibson in a special meeting this afternoon.

The motion against Allen passed by a vote of 197-53 with four abstentions, and the motion against Gibson passed by a vote of 172-69 with nine abstentions via paper ballot.

In order to pass the resolutions, the faculty overturned bylaws requiring legislation not on the meeting’s docket be tabled until the next faculty meeting. The resolutions were motioned at the meeting. A suggestion to adjourn the meeting and reconvene immediately was withdrawn, and a motion from professor Francis Degnin to adjourn and vote next week failed.

The meeting was called by UNI Faculty Chair James Jurgenson in response to a petition with 30 signatures that called for a meeting by the end of this week to discuss recent and coming budget cuts being carried out “with no faculty input.”

Look for more coverage of the meeting in this Tuesday’s issue of the Northern Iowan.